Great Barrier Reef Intergovernmental Agreement

The Great Barrier Reef Intergovernmental Agreement 2009, signed by the Prime Minister and Queensland Premier in June 2009, provides a framework for the Australian and Queensland governments to work together to protect the Great Barrier Reef.

The Agreement recognises that key pressures on the Reef—such as climate change impacts, catchment water quality and coastal development—cannot be effectively addressed by either government on their own.

The Agreement has been in place between successive governments for over 35 years, beginning with the Emerald Agreement in 1979. It was updated in 2009 to provide a contemporary framework for cooperation between the governments, recognising challenges such as climate change and catchment water quality that were not foreseen at the time of the 1979 Agreement.

The 2015 Agreement reflects the shared vision for the future outlined in the Reef 2050 Plan, and renews the Australian and Queensland governments’ commitment to protecting the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area including its Outstanding Universal Value.

Great Barrier Reef Ministerial Forum Implementation of the Intergovernmental Agreement is being driven by the Great Barrier Reef Ministerial Forum

The Ministerial Forum is comprised of two ministers each from the Australian and Queensland governments with responsibility for matters relating to the environment and marine parks, science, tourism and/or natural resource management. Ministers responsible for mining may not be members. The current members are:

  • The Hon Susan Ley MP - Australian Government Minister for the Environment (Chair)
  • In accordance with the Intergovernmental Agreement, the second Australian Government Minister will be appointment by the Prime Minister
  • The Hon Annastacia Palaszczuk - Premier of Queensland, Minister for Trade
  • The Hon Leeanne Enoch - Queensland Minister for the Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Minister for Science and Minister for the Arts

The Ministerial Forum's role is set out in the Intergovernmental Agreement. Protocols for its operation are set out in a schedule to the Agreement.

The Ministerial Council met 32 times under the 1979 Emerald Agreement. The Ministerial Council held its first meeting under the new Intergovernmental Agreement on 3 July 2009. The Ministerial Forum held its first meeting on 12 August 2011. Meeting outcomes are reported in the Great Barrier Reef Ministerial Council Communiqué.

The Great Barrier Reef Ministerial Forum Secretariat can be contacted at:

Great Barrier Reef Ministerial Forum Secretariat
Department of the Environment
GPO Box 787
Canberra ACT 2601