New chairs of local Reef advisory committees welcomed

The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority is pleased to announce the appointment of 12 community representatives to head up its Local Marine Advisory Committees for the next three years.

The 12 voluntary committees are valuable two-way conduits between the Marine Park Authority and the catchment communities they represent, which are located between Bundaberg in the south and Cape York in the north.

Marine Park Authority Chairman Dr Russell Reichelt said the 12 committees provided valuable feedback to marine managers on reef management policies and marine resources.

“Queensland coastal communities are crucial to the future of the Great Barrier Reef — they’re right alongside this World Heritage Area and are very interested in the Reef’s long term-health,” Dr Reichelt said.

“It’s fantastic to have such enthusiastic, skilled people from a range of backgrounds become involved in Reef management.

“We look forward to working with the Chairs and their committees over the next three years to achieve exciting outcomes for the Reef and its communities.”

Showing the commitment to protecting the Reef has never been stronger, a record number of membership nominations were received for the 12 committees through a merit-based application process.

The chairs were elected by their committee peers and come from a diverse range of backgrounds in marine and environmental science, local councils, fishing, economic development and farming.

The committees meet up to five times a year and exchange information and raise awareness of local activities, conservation, environment, public information and education concerning the local catchment, marine, and coastal regions that may have an impact on the Reef.

The committees were established in 1999 and operate on a three-year term.

More information about the Local Marine Advisory Committees is available on our website.

The 12 Chairs are:

BurnettSue SargentMarine science
Bowen BurdekinAnne SmithEconomic development and photography
CairnsRyan DonnellyEconomic development and photography
Cape YorkJessie Price-Decle

Environmental science

Capricorn CoastBret HeathUniversity lecturing
Cassowary CoastJeff BainesLocal council
DouglasJosh GibsonMarine biology and environmental management
GladstoneKarl FrenchMarine research


Adam Royle

Extension agronomy and sportfishing

MackayCaitlin DaviesConservation
TownsvilleVern Veitch

Local council wetlands ecology

WhitsundaysOlivia BrodhurstNatural resource management and conservation