The Douglas Local Marine Advisory Committee (LMAC) extends from the Bloomfield River in the north to Buchan Point in the south and includes the towns of Daintree Village, Mossman and Port Douglas together with Wangetti and Ellis beaches.

Regional focus

The Douglas region includes the traditional land and sea country of the Kuku Yalanji, Yirrganydji and Djabugay peoples.

It is a rich cultural landscape of great significance to Traditional Owners who have lived on and cared for this country for many thousands of years. The region’s rainforests and reefs form part of Traditional Owners’ identity.

Today, Traditional Owners remain actively involved in the management of their country, which includes the World Heritage listed Wet Tropics Rainforest and Great Barrier Reef.

It is these World Heritage listed places that make the Douglas region a world-renowned tourist destination. Its rainforest clad mountains, coral reefs, unspoilt beaches, freshwater rivers and coastal lowlands are outstandingly beautiful and biodiverse.

Tourism is the largest industry in the region with Port Douglas being the central hub for people visiting the reef and rainforest. With an 80% economic reliance of tourism, the Douglas Shire is ranked as the most tourism dependent region in the Australia.

The sugar industry is the second largest contributor to the local economy. Mossman sugar mill was built in 1894 and has operated continuously since that time. Most agricultural land in the region is used for sugar production and cane fields are a key feature of the area’s rural lowlands.

European settlers to the Douglas region occurred in 1876, when a port was established to service inland goldfields. Port Douglas was eventually eclipsed by the port of Cairns, but the Douglas region continued to develop into a diverse community.

The Douglas Local Marine Advisory Committee’s focus is on building community resilience and delivering positive outcomes for the Great Barrier Reef and its catchment. The health of these places is critically linked to the health and well-being of the Douglas community.

Local Marine Advisory Committee members

Josh GibsonChair
Kim Marshall 
Robert Hannan  
Evelyn Matthews 
Bruce McDonald 
Dean Miller 
Jason Mills 
Gerard Puglisi 
Brooke Rigby 
Shaun Simmonds 
Julia Leu 

More information

For further information please contact: Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
Far Northern Regional Office
PO Box 6091
Tel: (07) 4057 0700