The Capricorn Coast Local Marine Advisory Committee (LMAC) covers the coastal and inland area extending from Arthur Point in the north to the northern point of Curtis Island in the south. It includes the coastal towns of Emu Park and Yeppoon as well as the Byfield National Park, Stanage Bay and the Shoalwater Bay Military Training Area.

Regional focus

The Capricorn Coast, named for its position on the Tropic of Capricorn, is a 30 minute drive from Rockhampton in central Queensland. Not far off the coast is a group of islands popular for visitors, known as the Keppel Islands.

The city of Rockhampton sits astride Queensland’s largest river, the Fitzroy. Rockhampton is known as the beef capital of Australia, with on average, a regional cattle population of up to three and a half million head per season. Rockhampton exports cattle to world markets with both meatworks and saleyards operating in the region.

Mining is the main industry of inland central Queensland but agriculture is also strong with crops of grain, cotton, fodder, citrus and grapes grown in areas near Rockhampton. Crops grown along the coast include pineapples, pawpaws, bananas, custard apples, and other fruit and vegetables for the local and southern markets. The region also has large pine forests, producing timber for local mills.

Local Marine Advisory Committee recent activities

  • Tangaroa Blue app - developing an app that will link with the Australian Marine Debris initiative database and allow citizens to upload marine debris information to the AMDI.
  • Supporting the update of the Boating and fishing in the waters of the Capricorn Coast brochure.
  • Instigate and coordinate advice to Department of Environment and Energy to support a ban on the use of microbeads in Australia retail products.
  • Strong collaboration with Traditional Owners.

Local Marine Advisory Committee members

Bret Heath Chair
Margaret Inglis Secretary
Sabrina Burke  
Mark Edmistone  
Colleen Fagan 
Rob Freitag  
Rebecca French  
John Hallett 
Shelley McArdle 
John McGrath 
Bob Muir  
Barry Mullane 
Petrina Murphy 
Graham Pegg  
Steve Rye 
Sheldon Warwick 
Maryanne Smith  
Susan Wilson 
Arthur Hunt 
Dr Coral Rowston 

More information

For further information please contact Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority:
Southern Regional Office
PO Box 301
Tel: (07) 4848 7878