Capricorn Coast residents provide input into Great Barrier Reef protection

Published: 02/08/2012

Local resident Mark Jeffery was elected chair of the Capricorn Coast Local Marine Advisory Committee for the next three year term at the new committee’s first meeting recently.

It is one of 12 committees along the coast from Cape York to Bundaberg that provide input to the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA) on local marine issues.

GBRMPA Chairman Russell Reichelt said committee members would play an essential role in the future management of the Great Barrier Reef.

"We will be looking to these committees for advice on how we achieve a balance between sustainable use and protecting the Reef for the future," he said.

"They will contribute to the strategic assessment of the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area that will identify the Reef's values, the threats, and what we need to do to address them."

Mr Jeffery, a local resident and member of the Capricorn Skindivers Club, welcomed the opportunity for residents of the Capricorn Coast region to discuss important marine issues.

"The Capricorn Coast provides great access to the southern Great Barrier Reef. The Reef is critical to this region from economic, social and cultural perspectives. It is why many of us live in this part of the world," he said. 

"Our committee members come from a variety of backgrounds. They bring experience and local knowledge on agriculture,  conservation, recreational and commercial fishing, diving, boating, tourism, education, research and local government.

"The Capricorn Coast community is well represented. I’m confident we will be able to get the local perspective heard.”

The Capricorn Coast Local Marine Advisory Committee area covers the coastal and inland area extending from Arthur Point in the north to the northern point of Curtis Island in the south. It includes the coastal towns of Keppel Sands, Emu Park and Yeppoon as well as Byfield National Park, Stanage Bay and the Shoalwater Bay Military Training Area.

The new committee includes experienced members who have returned for another three-year term, and eleven new members who bring fresh perspectives to the table.

Established in 1999, the committees meet five times a year and undertake regional environmental projects. Committees operate in the Cape York, Douglas, Cairns, Cassowary Coast, Hinchinbrook, Townsville, Bowen-Burdekin, Whitsundays, Mackay, Capricorn Coast, Gladstone and Burnett regions.

Earlier this year, there was a call for residents along the coast to nominate for the committees.

For more information email the committee direct,

Name: GBRMPA Media
Contact: (07) 4750 0846