Indigenous Reef Advisory Committees

The Indigenous Reef Advisory Committee (IRAC) provides the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority with expertise-based advice on matters relating to the conservation and ecologically sustainable use of the Marine Park.

The independent chair and members are appointed by the Marine Park Authority from 18 March 2015 to 30 June 2018 and three (3) meetings per year are arranged to deliberate on business matters. The committee is supported by the Great Barrier Reef operations general manager and the Indigenous Partnerships director.

Refer to the Indigenous Reef Advisory Committee Terms of Reference.

Communiques of Committee meetings

A public report is prepared after each Indigenous Reef Advisory Committee meeting, summarising the major issues discussed at that meeting.

View and download the reports (Word Doc).

Committee members

Mr Phil Rist — Independent ChairPhil is a Nywaigi Traditional Owner and has been the executive officer of the Girringun Aboriginal Corporation in Cardwell for more than 15 years. The Corporation manages an Indigenous Protected Areas program for nine Traditional Owner groups, land and sea rangers and other community projects.
Mrs Angelina Akee

Angie is a Juru Traditional Owner and is the chair of the Kybra Munda Yalga Aboriginal Corporation which is the prescribed body corporate for the Juru Traditional Owners.

Mr Kerry BlackmanKerry is a Gurang Traditional Owner and is the chief executive officer of the Gidarjil Aboriginal Corporation in Bundaberg which undertakes land and sea management and other programs.
Mr Duane Fraser

Duane is a Wulgurukaba Traditional Owner and has been involved in the development of the Indigenous targets and actions associated with the Reef 2050 Plan.

Mr Damien Head

Damien is the Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service regional director for the Great Barrier Reef region and is based in Airlie Beach.

Mr Stan LuiStan Lui is a Traditional owner connected to Erub and Mer in eastern Torres Strait and is the partnerships manager with the Torres Strait Regional Authority based on Thursday Island. He is actively involved in sea country management issues in the Torres Strait in his official capacity and outside work. Stan also has the role as the chair of the Fisheries Research and Development Corporation Indigenous Reference Group, is the chair of the NESP Clean Air and Urban Landscapes Hub Indigenous Advisory Committee, and is a board member of the Reef and Rainforest Research Centre.
Mr Ross MacLeodRoss is the director of the Queensland Government’s Cape York Tenure Resolution Program and has extensive experience in World Heritage strategy, natural resource management and Indigenous engagement
Mr Robert Muir

Bob is a Woppaburra Traditional Owner from the Great Keppel Islands and is a community development officer at the Rockhampton Regional Council.

Mr Gavin SingletonGavin is a Yirrganydji Traditional Owner and is a project officer at the Dawul Wuru Indigenous Corporation in Cairns.
Dr Leah TalbotLeah is a Kuku Yalanji Traditional Owner and has recently completed a PhD in the integration of conservation and Indigenous knowledge, goverance systems, rights and interests, supported by the CSIRO. She is based in Cairns and is also a board member of the Wet Tropical Management Authority.