Indigenous Reef Advisory Committee

The Indigenous Reef Advisory Committee (IRAC) operates in accordance with the Reef Advisory Committee Charter of Operation, and the Indigenous Reef Advisory Committee Terms of Reference.

Communiques of Committee meetings

A public report is prepared after each Indigenous Reef Advisory Committee meeting, summarising the major issues discussed at that meeting.

View and download the reports (Word Doc).

Who is on the Committee

It is recognised that the IRAC is competency-based, and members are appointed taking into consideration their experience, knowledge, skills, relationships and networks with Reef Traditional Owners or relevant groups or sectors. All Committee members are expected to adopt a broad perspective on Committee business that is raised.

Members of the IRAC will be appointed in accordance with the Charter of Operation, and will comprise of the majority of Traditional Owners connected to the Great Barrier Reef, and other persons with the appropriate professional abilities in the area of sea country or marine park management to increase the strategic capacity of the committee.

Committee members

2014 – 2019 Committee members
MemberOrganisation and/or Field of Expertise
Mr Phil Rist — Independent ChairPhil is a Nywaigi Traditional Owner and has been the executive officer of the Girringun Aboriginal Corporation in Cardwell for more than 15 years. The Corporation manages an Indigenous Protected Areas program for nine Traditional Owner groups, land and sea rangers and other community projects.
Mrs Angelina AkeeAngie is a Juru Traditional Owner and is the chair of the Kybra Munda Yalga Aboriginal Corporation which is the prescribed body corporate for the Juru Traditional Owners.
Mr Kerry BlackmanKerry is a Gurang Traditional Owner and is the chief executive officer of the Gidarjil Aboriginal Corporation in Bundaberg which undertakes land and sea management and other programs.
Mr Duane FraserDuane is a Wulgurukaba Traditional Owner and has been involved in the development of the Indigenous targets and actions associated with the Reef 2050 Plan.
Mr Damien HeadDamien is the Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service regional director for the Great Barrier Reef region and is based in Airlie Beach.
Mr Stan LuiStan Lui is a Traditional owner connected to Erub and Mer in eastern Torres Strait and is the partnerships manager with the Torres Strait Regional Authority based on Thursday Island. He is actively involved in sea country management issues in the Torres Strait in his official capacity and outside work. Stan also has the role as the chair of the Fisheries Research and Development Corporation Indigenous Reference Group, is the chair of the NESP Clean Air and Urban Landscapes Hub Indigenous Advisory Committee, and is a board member of the Reef and Rainforest Research Centre.
Mr Ross MacLeodRoss is the director of the Queensland Government’s Cape York Tenure Resolution Program and has extensive experience in World Heritage strategy, natural resource management and Indigenous engagement.
Mr Robert MuirBob is a Woppaburra Traditional Owner from the Great Keppel Islands and is a community development officer at the Rockhampton Regional Council.
Mr Gavin SingletonGavin is a Yirrganydji Traditional Owner and is a project officer at the Dawul Wuru Indigenous Corporation in Cairns.
Dr Leah TalbotLeah is a Kuku Yalanji Traditional Owner and has recently completed a PhD in the integration of conservation and Indigenous knowledge, goverance systems, rights and interests, supported by the CSIRO. She is based in Cairns and is also a board member of the Wet Tropical Management Authority.